Chris Davies walks out of UAF….

Hat-tip to Liberal Vision on this one;

“Chris Davies MEP seems to be a regular topic of discussion on this blog as of late.  He deserves three cheers for swiftly condemning UAF’s bust-up of the BNP’s abortive press conference last week. But he also merits a fourth cheer for contacting UAF last week, demanding to be removed from their list of supporters.”

I am not entirely convinced walking away is the best response, and Liam in comments makes a strong point here;

“I am not totally aganist the UAF’s protests – okay, so egg throwing isn’t exactly reputation building, and the Newsnight performance was a bit NUS. But following a couple of meetings I have been to (where I made sure my place as the only LibDem and only mainstream person in the room was made clear!) the general mood was towards keeping the more extreme behaviour to a minimum. They are as stunned and saddened by the BNP success as anyone.”

However, it is clear that a strong response is needed to the UAF following the egg-throwing nonsense so it is generally a good thing that people are speaking-up. I think the UAF is in danger of losing it’s claim to be a broad-based coalition…

Tags: ,

About darrellgoodliffe

n.a

3 responses to “Chris Davies walks out of UAF….”

  1. James Graham says :

    I don’t think there is any point in wasting time with the UAF. In my experience, Searchlight/Hope Not Hate tend to view them as an embarrassment at best and a hindrance at worst.

    Like

  2. Mark Littlewood says :

    I just want to make sure that the party have no connection with them. It’s a hard-left flash mob. There’s lots of ways of taking on the BNP. This isn’t a good one. I’m still waiting for a reply from Alistair and Mike to clarify their relationship with this outfit. I haven’t received a reply yet (after about a week) but I’m sure they will get back to me as soon as they have time.

    Like

  3. darrellgoodliffe says :

    Mark,

    I dont think you will find too much disagreement from me on this one to be honest. I can fully see where both you and James are coming from although what Liam said gave me pause for a little thought. Maybe it’s worth agitating on the fringes just bearing in mind that as a matter of course people who are not hard-left will be drawn in at a time when this is an issue but other than that I am pretty much in agreement with yourself on this one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

